The Oath of Vayuputras (The Shiva Trilogy #3) By Amish Tripathi

The Oath of Vayuputras (The Shiva Trilogy #3)
By Amish Tripathi

My rating :****

This is the third book in The Shiva Trilogy series. Read my review for first two books.

I suggest reading first two books before picking this up and this review may contain spoilers from book 1 & 2.

The Shiva Trilogy -The Immortals of Meluha- Book-1 – By Amish Tripathi

The Shiva Trilogy -The Secret of the Nagas – Book -2 – By Amish Tripathi


Blurb From good reads

It starts of from exactly where book 2 has ended. The secrets of naga has been revealed. Shiva is flabbergasted by their revelation. Shiva continues his Journey in understanding the Evil and what needs to be done to stop Evil. In Secret of Nagas he has moved across the length and breadth of India in search of them, in this book his journey is steady paced and across several lands along with his travel to Pariha to meet the Mighty Vayuputras.

I was little disappointed in justifying certain actions of Shiva of using Pashupatasra, but apart from that story proceeded interestingly. I like his war strategies, how everyone thinks their own benefits and take sides based on expected outcome. Suspense of Evil is revealed much early in the book but yet it keeps reader engrossed with the thrill of war. The preparation for war and strategies used gives a good thrill throughout and it will keep us on our toes.

Amish has made sure to make it an engaging read throughout, even though it feels little dragged with certain points like surrounding explanations and preparation, it gives us a good imagination. Many loose ends are tied. Too many short stories are added. Many more new characters enter this series. However I mean engrossed throughout the book

Explanations i liked
1) reason for saraswati’s death
2) explanation for Fravashi
3) how temples work as radio transmitter
4) The frog story

Some of my fav quotes from book
1) Excess of anything is bad and should be avoided
2) What is good for some may end up being bad for others
3) it meant that it was better to commit mistakes on the path that one’s soul is meant to walk on, than to live a perfect life on a path that is not meant for one’s soul.

Since I had read these book on the date of release, even though continuity was there I somehow missed several parts so I was looking forward to read all 3 in one shot which I did few days back. This final book in the series gives a satisfying conclusion and thus bring the journey of Shiva to an end. This is one the best trilogy written on Indian  Mythology( yes, it’s fiction) yet go ahead and be a part of Shiva’s journey.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s