Fantasy

Blood & Honey(Serpent & Dove #2) by Shelby Mahurin

Title: Blood & Honey(Serpent & Dove #2)

Author:  Shelby Mahurin

My Rating:  🌟🌟🌟1/2

Type: Series – Book 2

Genre: Fantasy, Witch World, Magic

Primary Characters: Reid Diggory, Louise, Coco, Ansel, Beau     

 Narration: Dual POV

I had slightly higher hopes after reading book 1. However, it was disappointing to me. I could see some character development, but Plot was completely underdeveloped. This book had lot of unnecessary drama and nothing happened in most of the book.

Plot starts exactly after the events from Chatteau. Lou, Reid, Coco, Ansel, Beau and Madame Labelle have barely made it out of Chatteau alive. Enemies are close and they are being hunted from all angles. La Dame des Sorceries have indulged them in the game of cat and mouse.

This book is more serious and also darker. To escape the clutches of her mother Morgane Le Blanc, Lou and Reid have to acquire acquaintance. It does come at high cost. Throughout the book they traverse through the kingdom in search of acquaintance. On the way they make some unexpected alliance.

Character development is good in this. Though Lou and Reid’s relationship issues did start to bother me after a while. Reid is trapped in his dark thoughts most of the time, he hates himself for killing the archbishop. Reid’s inner monologue and hardship to accept his true nature is described wonderfully. Lou is also trying to remain herself, but acts more reckless and falling into the powerful pit of magic.

Magic System showed a promising entry; however, it wasn’t explored well even in this book. It was lot vague and too many unanswered questions. 

Secondary characters – Coco and Beau sort of faded away and new interesting characters came into play. Deveraux, Zenna, Seraphina, and the twins—Thierry & Toulouse were very intriguing. Deveraux role is climax was so unexpected. Too much of unnecessary drama got added for Ansel.

Writing style was ok. Narration lagged in holding interest for a long while. Flow of the book changed several times from slow to fast and vice versa. I missed Lou and Reid’s banter too much to rate this book higher!  It’s one of the things I loved the most in Serpent & Dove. “Big Titty Liddy”- song was still a killer even in this book.

Towards the end things started to pick up and get even more interesting. The beginning is slow, and some parts were a little long, but the book as a whole is one time read, just to see what happens in their world.  The ending was surprising even though I expected it a little due to the hint being dropped several times. There is also a kind of cliffhanger and I want to read the next book just to see how this all ends.

Overall, this book doesn’t add too much, but you can pick it up to see what’s happening in their world and how they are planning to outplay Morgane Le Blanc.

Buy Linkhttps://www.amazon.in/Blood-Honey-Serpent-Shelby-Mahurin/dp/0062878050

Blurb as per Amazon

The stakes are higher. The witches are deadlier. And the romance is red-hot. The eagerly anticipated sequel to the New York Times and Indiebound bestseller Serpent & Dove is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and is an instant New York Times bestseller!

Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church—fugitives with nowhere to hide.

To survive, they need allies. Strong ones. But as Lou becomes increasingly desperate to save those she loves, she turns to a darker side of magic that may cost Reid the one thing he can’t bear to lose. Bound to her always, his vows were clear: where Lou goes, he will go; and where she stays, he will stay.

Until death do they part. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s