Fantasy

A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

Title: A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Author:  Brigid Kemmerer

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟

Type: Trilogy. Book -1

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Magical World,YA

Primary Characters: Grey, Rhen, Harper

Narration: Limited third party

This book was suggested to me by several fellow readers in different reading groups. After reading burb I thought it’s time to pick this as I have been gushing over fantasy characters for a while now. This book was strange for me. I didn’t hate this book, but I also sort of didn’t like it.

As blurb says, it looks like beauty and the beast retelling, but author has added her own touch to this. Harper is having a cerebral palsy and her life in DC is not an easy one. When a turn of events brings her to a parallel world of Emberfall, she is faced with a different set of difficulties.

Prince Rhen of Emberfall is cursed. Guard commander Grey is confidante, last warrior standing at the palace with Prince Rhen. I loved Grey, more than I liked Rhen. I enjoyed reading about the relationships between the trio.  I found grey to be infinitely more interesting, sexy, and intelligent than Rhen. Harper is a strong willed, extremely smart girl. She tries everything to make Emberfall better and It’s not easy to break the curse.

 There was so much lacking when it came to its world-building as well as the character development. The mixture of urban and high fantasy worlds along with the protagonist’s cerebral palsy representation just didn’t sit very well with me. I liked the atmospheric setting, the flawed characters, the representation, however the combo wasn’t so good. The action in the last part of book was way better than I expected.

The ending was good, cliffhanger was developed well but I still have second thoughts to read the second book.

It is a good book and just because I had problems with it and didn’t like it, doesn’t mean it should be same for you. Go ahead, read it and let me know your thoughts.

Buy linkhttps://www.amazon.in/Curse-So-Dark-Lonely/dp/1408884615/

Blurb as per Amazon

New York Times bestseller!
Has everything you’d want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale.” – Jodi Picoult
In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s